One Last Game


The number seven has always been my favorite number. I don’t think there’s a specific reason, but growing up that was always my answer when someone would ask. Perhaps it’s because I always equated that number with a touchdown, or maybe it’s because of some other random motive. Either way, that number has always made sense to me. It’s just felt right.

This year will be my seventh time calling The Game between Woodberry Forest School and Episcopal High School, and I’ve decided it will also be my last. Getting to spend a third of my life calling one of the greatest rivalries I’ve ever encountered has been an honor and a privilege, and I’ve seen so many things along the way. I witnessed the tie and gave a rant of epic proportions during the postgame show in audio that, unfortunately, is lost forever. I called Clint Alexander’s final game, a day that brought so much emotion that it was hard to sign off without tearing up. I watched players that I coached as freshmen and sophomores rise up to the varsity team and perform at a high level, and I hosted multiple editions of Gameday at the Forest and worked with some spectacular people each and every year. Who would’ve thought two of my closest friends from high school would be the chaplain and the physics teacher?

The reason I’ve decided to end it on my seventh Game is that this Woodberry senior class is the last one I know through and through. These seniors were freshmen when we shared the Bengal football field years ago, and they were the youngest ones singing Amici at my graduation. It just feels right to finish things off with this group of Woodberry boys and parents. I’ve also chosen this year because, well, life is happening. I’m working a lot, both on and off the air, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to guarantee that I can make it up to The Game every year. So, I want to stop in 2018 in Johnson Stadium, because I can’t imagine calling one last Woodberry game anywhere else.

Some of you might read this and wonder, “Hey, why is he making such a big deal out of this? He’s already left Woodberry and, after all, it’s just a high school football game.” The truth is that I’m writing this to help myself not be sad about having one last broadcast at the Forest. I know how these things work; I’ll mean to say something during The Game, but the moment won’t be right, or we won’t have enough time and I’ll feel like I wasted an opportunity. So, I wanted to say my farewell now. The memories from calling this game are numerous—from our first Gameday at the Forest episode live outside the dining hall (with a mascot head reveal included) to singing and laughing with Dr. David Smith and Greg Jacobs to almost breaking chairs and fighting the wind at the Hummel Bowl, every single moment has been a complete joy. I’ll never forget the van rides with Mr. Huber and whoever else wanted to tag along early up to Alexandria or the time we practically begged the Zaytouns to bring cookies to Gameday at the Forest for a “segment” when I think we were just hungry. To be honest, it’s hard to say goodbye to a game that I’ve loved working for the last seven years. Still, I feel like that time has come.

So, Tiger Nation, I want to say thank you for welcoming me into your homes, cars, and wherever else you listened for the last seven years. From the parents who started tuning in my 3rd Form year and have listened all the way through to the parents who heard me for the first time last November and probably wondered why there was a new guy talking, it’s been a pleasure to share this rivalry with you. It’s hard to say goodbye to this game and my spot as the play-by-play man for the foreseeable future, but y’all know where to find me. Thanks for sharing your time with me and making memories alongside all of us in the booth. It has truly been a blessing. Go Tigers, and I’ll see all of you November 10th on WFSPN.

3 responses

  1. The Forest has been lucky to have you on the call for 7 years! When you’re calling your first SEC championship game we can say I remember when! I’ll be listening from half way across the world and wishing there was a spare headset! Some day we’ll get the band back together again!

  2. Well said, Gray. You’re a true pro. It was an honor working with you.

  3. CATHERINE WHARTON | Reply

    Thank you Gray – for your passion, and pursuit of the creation of WFSPN. We are so proud to call you a Tiger and look forward to following your career.

Leave a comment